Skip to content
Warrington Counts — Warrington, in numbers.Local help →

Warrington, in numbers

People and living standards

Warrington council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Warrington council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 184,713 in 1991 to 215,425 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Warrington council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 188,271 people in 1996; 215,425 people in 2025. 14.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Warrington council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991184,713
1992183,393
1993184,749
1994186,091
1995187,274
1996188,271
1997188,903
1998189,569
1999190,320
2000190,629
2001191,202
2002191,615
2003191,987
2004191,837
2005192,992
2006194,603
2007196,559
2008198,187
2009200,057
2010201,309
2011202,709
2012203,914
2013205,905
2014208,056
2015209,575
2016210,873
2017212,137
2018212,008
2019212,245
2020211,627
2021211,182
2022211,546
2023213,242
2024214,640
2025215,425
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Warrington council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 40,002 people in 1996; 38,297 people in 2025. 4.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Warrington council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199139,014
199238,946
199339,325
199439,920
199540,010
199640,002
199739,990
199839,867
199940,108
200040,069
200139,763
200239,677
200339,419
200439,213
200538,963
200638,691
200738,551
200838,474
200938,559
201038,599
201138,778
201238,938
201339,099
201439,435
201539,438
201639,443
201739,507
201839,204
201939,012
202038,615
202138,117
202238,518
202338,943
202438,867
202538,297
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Warrington council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 122,028 people in 1996; 133,534 people in 2025. 9.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Warrington council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991120,283
1992118,964
1993119,751
1994120,360
1995121,185
1996122,028
1997122,628
1998123,299
1999123,672
2000123,796
2001124,316
2002124,505
2003124,725
2004124,324
2005125,184
2006126,755
2007128,351
2008129,534
2009130,501
2010130,994
2011131,423
2012131,009
2013131,796
2014132,573
2015133,287
2016133,856
2017134,415
2018134,038
2019133,708
2020133,145
2021132,703
2022131,904
2023132,419
2024133,011
2025133,534
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Warrington council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 26,241 people in 1996; 43,594 people in 2025. 66.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Warrington council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,416
199225,483
199325,673
199425,811
199526,079
199626,241
199726,285
199826,403
199926,540
200026,764
200127,123
200227,433
200327,843
200428,300
200528,845
200629,157
200729,657
200830,179
200930,997
201031,716
201132,508
201233,967
201335,010
201436,048
201536,850
201637,574
201738,215
201838,766
201939,525
202039,867
202140,362
202241,124
202341,880
202442,762
202543,594
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 210,973 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Warrington · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh6,9543.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,5760.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,3351.6%
White197,30593.5%
Other ethnic group1,8030.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 202,228 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Warrington · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White193,99295.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,1441.1%
Asian/Asian British4,9112.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British6940.3%
Other ethnic group4870.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 191,080 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Warrington · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White186,99697.9%
Mixed1,1440.6%
Asian/Asian British1,5990.8%
Black/Black British3630.2%
Chinese/Other9780.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 2.7% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Warrington council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,181 per person in 1997; £25,255 per person in 2024. 148.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Warrington council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,181
199810,346
199910,887
200011,725
200112,286
200212,462
200312,820
200413,525
200513,793
200614,309
200715,072
200815,199
200915,356
201015,511
201115,790
201216,580
201316,744
201417,315
201518,604
201618,454
201718,707
201819,411
201920,377
202020,378
202121,215
202222,289
202323,935
202425,255
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Warrington council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -4% in 1997; -2.7% in 2024. 1.3 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Warrington council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-4
1998-4.4
1999-3.8
2000-1.5
2001-0.7
2002-1.5
2003-1.7
2004-0.3
2005-1.9
2006-2.3
2007-1.8
2008-3.5
2009-4.1
2010-4
2011-3.1
2012-1.8
2013-4.4
2014-4.3
2015-2.2
2016-4.2
2017-5
2018-4.9
2019-3.3
2020-2.9
2021-2.9
2022-2.9
2023-2.1
2024-2.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.7%

21 March 2021 · Warrington council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16%

21 March 2021 · Warrington council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16.5%

21 March 2021 · Warrington council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5%

21 March 2021 · Warrington council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£260,000

July 2026 · Warrington council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£899

August 2026 · Warrington council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.